Posted on

Gun control.. arguing with idiots!

I’ve been called many names since I publicly stated I was against any type of gun control.    I’ve been impressed by the originality of such comments and by the lack of knowledge of many individuals.
Has anyone heard of common sense?

 

According to Wikipedia, here is the definition:

 

Common sense is defined by Merriam-Webster as, “sound and prudent judgment based on a simple perception of the situation or facts.”[1] Thus, “common sense” (in this view) equates to the knowledge and experience which most people already have, or which the person using the term believes that they do or should have. The Cambridge Dictionary defines it as, “the basic level of practical knowledge and judgment that we all need to help us live in a reasonable and safe way”.[2]

 

 

Well, I’m telling you, common sense is not common anymore.  Common sense is too basic to be adequately applied in people’s life.  However, this “childish” thinking always saved my life…every time.

 

Let’s talk about guns.  Boohoo!!  GUNS!   The word we shouldn’t speak about.

 

Misconception number 1:  GUNS KILL PEOPLE

 

This isn’t true.  People kill people. Or if you wish to go deeper, animals kill people, Mother Nature kills people…  guns are a tool used to kill ( really, do I truly need to write that?), but even more often to protect.

 

A word on the school shooting in Connecticut:  As a mother of three, I can somehow understand the feeling of those families.  Losing a child would be the end of my world.  We are sending our children to school every day thinking they are safe.  We have the same trust toward a doctor, a babysitter and our own relatives.  I don’t want to debate about the importance of this tragic event.  However, I do not feel this is fair to the other families who have lost a child.  The death of a child is always a tragedy no matter how it happens.  Look at the FBI stats, your child is more at risk to be killed by the babysitter than by a random shooter.

 

We do need to protect our children.  If gun control was the solution, I would be the first one signing on that.. but it’s not the case and we need to find the root of the problem while in the mid-time, we stay tooled to fight back.

 

 

Misconception number 2: LESS GUNS LESS GUN SHOTS…

 

Hmmm could be true.  However, in US, most gun shots have been used to commit suicide.  This is the choice number 1 to put an end to life.  Correct me if I am wrong, but I don’t think guns are an incentive to commit suicide.  I don’t believe someone would get the idea of shooting himself by looking at a gun. So basically, this is the choice number one because it’s widely available.  In Canada, for instance, suicides rate is higher but Canadians use other ways to face death.

 

If you look at the US guns stats, most homicides are related to gangland killings, juvenile gang killings, drugs and robberies.  We would have to agree with this: Illegals and robbers don’t get permits, drug addicts or sellers do not follow laws.  Enough said!

 

http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/ucr/crime-in-the-u.s/2011/crime-in-the-u.s.-2011/tables/expanded-homicide-data-table-10

 

 

Misconception number 3: WHO NEEDS AN ASSAULT GUN?

 

I would answer this: How easy is to convert a semi-automatic gun into an automatic gun?

http://www.hackcanada.com/ice3/misc/ak47mod.txt

 

Anyone who would need an automatic gun would be able to get one very easily… A law to prohibit the selling of these weapons would be stupid and costly.

 

 

Misconception number 4: NOT EVERYONE HAS THE ABILITY TO USE THEIR JUDGMENT

 

This is my favorite 🙂

 

It’s not a Government’s job to sort people by judgment.  Government is not birthing us; we birth the government… the other way around.

 

Not to mention that bad guys are not using judgment…  They don’t even know what it’s all about.  Speaking about that, what is judgment anyway?

 

“The faculty of being able to make critical distinctions and achieve a balanced viewpoint; discernment”

 

 

Well, So why are we being trusted to use judgment to accomplish this?

 

 

– Keeping a baby safe

– Administrating medication to a child or elderly

– Using cooking devices

– Saving a person doing CPR

 

Can you kill a baby if you let him alone:   YES

Can you kill a child if you give a high dosage of medication: YES

Can you kill a person with a sharp kitchen knife: YES

Can you hurt or even kill a person while trying to save his/her life doing CPR?  YES

 

 

 

Actually there are more deaths related to these situations than related to guns…

 

Let’s think for an instant that starting today, we are not allowed to perform CPR. Only professionals can save lives.  You have to call 911 if you see a person not breathing or having a heart attack.

 

YOU: “It doesn’t make any sense.  Paramedics are not everywhere, someone has do to something right away”

GOVERNMENT: “We heard of very unfortunate events.  Some individuals died because they have received CPR while their heart was still beating.  We even had a case where the person performing CPR died from an infection following the act (this is true by the way).  We decided to allow only trained professionals ( paramedics, nurses and doctors) to conduct such actions.

 

 

Would you feel safe in a world where only professionals can save your life?  Would you feel safe knowing that you would not even being allowed to save your own child’s life?  Would you do it anyway?  I would…

 

 

WHILE FACING DEATH, NO LAW STANDS.

 

Bad and good guys don’t care about the rules in a survival mode.  THIS IS A FACT!

 

 

A QUESTION OF SYMBOLIC?

 

In 2000, a study has been published about the symbolic of guns; GUN CULTURE AND SYMBOLISM AMONG U.K. AND US WOMEN.

 

“There were significant differences in beliefs concerning the right to own a gun and the protective effect of guns but not in the perceived contribution of guns to crime. Although neither group strongly equated guns symbolically with power or control, the U.S. women were more likely to perceive guns as expressions of freedom or independence, and the U.K. women were more likely to view guns as expressions of danger and violence”

 

REFERENCE: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10981372

 

This is what cultural maxism is bringing to US right now.  Be aware!

 

 

RATIONALITY IS COLD BLOOD THINKING?

 

I once said: “If my child is being hit by a Chinese driver, I’ll start a fight with the whole China”.

 

You can’t ask a person facing an emotional meltdown to think rationally. Nor you can allow a person to vote laws only based on emotions.

 

 

“Rational thinking refers to logical or reasoning being involved in the thought process. It refers to providing reasons or rational behind thoughts or ideas. It adds an element of calculation and planning to a steam of thoughts rather than basing them on emotion or personal opinion. It is a kind of objective process of thinking and an analytic approach to any problem. Rational thinking is based on reasons or facts and is hence much more calculating and realistic. All people are capable of thinking rationally, but people will tend to cloud this ability because of emotions or prejudices. “

 

This is what we need from our Governments.  This is why they are elected.

 

 

Using a gun to protect your family

 

Yeah but why?  You can use a knife or a baseball bat.

 

My scenario:

 

I’m alone with my kids at home.  At night, I hear someone breaking a window… coming inside.  I have 3 children sleeping in 3 different rooms.  I could hide myself in a closet to call 911 but what if?  What if they enter my children bedrooms and kill them.

 

Situation one: A knife

 

I take my sharp knife and I walk toward the stairs.  I can hear someone in the kitchen.  I have no idea what the person is coming for.  Do I know the person?  Why would someone come into my house at night for anything else than bad intentions. I wait…  I wish he’ll leave.  Oh! He has a gun. I see he has a gun.  What should I do?  If I walk toward him to attack, he might shoot. I don’t think I am strong enough to run, stab him before he shoots.. I’m screwed.

 

Situation two:  A gun

 

I take my shot guns and I walk toward the stairs.  I can hear someone in the kitchen.  I have no idea what the person is coming for.  Do I know the person?  Why would someone come into my house at night for anything else than bad intentions. I wait…  I wish he’ll leave.  Oh! He has a gun. I see he has a gun.  What should I do?  I scream “drop your gun”, he doesn’t move. I shoot.  I saved my family.

 

 

 

Arguing with idiots (yes, these are real comments):

 

“Well, what if the guy had no intentions to kill you”

 

Do I care?  In my kitchen in the middle of the night, and you think he was about to bake me cookies?

 

If you break the law by entering my house, you don’t deserve to live.

 

 

“Well, sometimes, just talk to the person might help”

 

While I was giving an interview for a radio show, the host said:” well if you have a gun, you might decide to shoot too soon rather than maybe talk to the person”

 

Arguing with idiots just doesn’t only happen in my kitchen in the middle of the night.

 

Yeah, good idea:

 

” That’s a big gun you have there, would you care for some tea”..

“I bet your parents didn’t raise you well, do you want to talk about it”

 

But YOU, reader, you get this right?

 

 

 

 

 

“Well, I don’t know where you live but I feel pretty safe where I live and I don’t feel like I need to protect myself”

 

Answer this: why do we take insurance?

 

Do I really think I’ll die within the next 20 years.. hmmm no… but maybe!  This is why I have a life insurance!

 

Do I think I’ll crash my car.. hmm no.. well maybe!  So this is why I have car insurance.

 

Do I think I’ll use a gun in my life…  hmmmm no,  well maybe!

 

(Rational thinking isn’t that bad after all)

 

If you don’t feel you need life insurance.. don’t pay for one.. You decide!

Same applies for guns, if you are too scared to own one, don’t do it.

BUT DON’T TELL ME I CAN’T…

 

(oh no! here they come again…)

 

“Well, insurance doesn’t kill people!”

 

 

Ok close your eyes…

Don’t be scared… close your eyes…

I WON’T shoot you so please… CLOSE YOUR EYES.

 

Good…

 

Once upon a time, after a deadly earthquake in California, a lady found a magic wand buried under a collapsed building. 

 

Under the magic wand you could read “press the button and vanish all firearms from this planet”. (what?, it’s only a story…)

 

Of course the lady thought she would bring peace on earth by pressing the button so she did and suddenly all guns disappeared. 

 

It was a feeling of joy for many human beings.  Except for some, with bad intentions. 

 

An underground network appeared, “have you heard of laser guns? I think they make them in South Africa, it’s a secret weapon.”

 

The first organized crime association the Black Roosters was the first to own them.  They were robbing banks, killing their enemies.  The US government already knew about laser guns.  They decided to arm their agents to fight these dangerous people. 

 

However, more and more organizations were getting these weapons.  Many people died.  Joseph Moore got his son killed in the street.  He was so angry, he decided to fight too.  He started his own “organization” made of well-intentioned people.  With the help of a friend (and a lot of dollars), he also got several laser guns.

 

Years later, 45% of US household own a laser gun for self-defense.  Some argue they should regulate them… 

 

A little girl walking in the grass found a magic wand.  Under the magic wand you could read “press the button and vanish all laser guns from this planet”….

 

 

 

This remind me of something..  The war on drugs.

The most deadly and dangerous street drugs you can find are not regulated.  They can be made out of legal ingredients purchased at the closest pharmacy.

 

 

What a shame…

 

As long as drug addict exist, I want to be able to defend myself

As long as mental diseases exist, I want to be able to defend myself

 

 

Individual defense rights allow a nation to grow because it inspires freedom and independence.  As “collective” as we want to be, never lose the idea that in a “collection” each piece has its own uniqueness.

 

Leave a Reply

